Dayton Hall of Fame

Join us on Friday, May 12th for our annual Walk the Walk Celebration. 
We’ll celebrate honorees and announce the 2017 class of inductees.  With live music, food trucks, and a children’s play area,
Wright Dunbar will be the place that night!


The Walk of Fame is a significant legacy of the City of Dayton’s bicentennial celebration in 1996. As of 2016, 166 individuals have been recognized on the Dayton Region’s Walk of Fame for their outstanding and enduring personal or professional contributions to the community, nation and the world in the areas of:

Arts and Culture
Business/Corporate Leader
Community Service
Significant Personal Achievement

Since its inception in 1996 as a part of the City of Dayton’s bicentennial celebration, individuals have been recognized on the Dayton Region’s Walk of Fame for their outstanding and enduring personal or professional contributions to the community, nation and the world.

The Dayton Region’s Walk of Fame is installed in the sidewalks along West Third Street between Shannon and Broadway Streets in the historic Wright-Dunbar Business District and can be enjoyed year-round. Visit the place where three exceptional men, Orville and Wilbur Wright, and Paul Laurence Dunbar called home. Begin your visit at the Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park, where you can chat with knowledgeable staff, pick up a Walk of Fame walking tour brochure, information, and directions to other historical sites, and find out about general programs and special events during your visit.

     Brief History of the Dayton Region’s Walk of Fame     
Since its inception in 1996 as part of the City of Dayton’s Bicentennial Celebration, the Dayton Region’s Walk of Fame has recognized 156 outstanding individuals and groups for their enduring personal or professional contributions to the community, nation, and the world.
In 2003 the Walk of Fame was moved from the Dayton International Airport to the Wright-Dunbar Historic District and is now managed and supported by Wright Dunbar, Inc.  Granite pavers are located on the sidewalks on both sides of West Third Street between Shannon and Broadway Streets and on Williams Street.
Wright Dunbar, Inc., a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization, is the catalyst and facilitator for urban community and economic revitalization of the historic Wright-Dunbar Historic District and the West Third Street corridor.  Its vision is to create a vibrant, urban, walkable community of innovation, creativity, and collaboration where diverse families, businesses, neighbors, and visitors live, work, play, and learn together as a testimony to Dayton’s rich history. 
The Walk of Fame and the annual celebratory event provide the region an opportunity to celebrate the unique contributions of past and present citizens, and it also provides funds to support the program and the upkeep of the Walk.  Visitors from across the United States and schoolchildren in the region visit the Walk to be inspired by and learn about the men and women honored in the Walk of Fame.

Dayton Region’s Walk of Fame Inductees 1995-2015

Dr. Irwin M. Abrams

Lucinda W. Adams

The Honorable State Representative David D. Albritton

Vincent Groby Apple

Major General Harry G. Armstrong, MD

Paul “Easy” Arnold

Marie S. Aull

Eliam E. Barney

Reverend DeSoto Bass

Suzanne M. Bassani

Harry C. Baujan

Clark E. Beck

Arthur Beerman

Loren M. Berry

Jeraldyne Blunden

Erma Bombeck

The Honorable Edward Grimes Breen

Katharine Kennedy Brown

Clayton John Bruckner

Si Burick

Milton Caniff

Julia Shaw Carnell

Iula O. Carter

Lester LeFevre Cecil 

Celebration Dayton ‘96

Charles Ritter Collett

Jeanne Comer

Charlotte Reeve Conover

George C. Cooper

Governor James M. Cox

Tom D. Crouch

Levitt Luzern Custer

Gussie Lord Davis

Willis “Bing” Davis

Carleton William “Carl” Day  

Dayton Marcos

The Dayton Triangles football team

Colonel Edward A. Deeds

Joseph R. Desch

Phil Donahue

Electra C. Doren

Ralph and Christine Dull

Paul Laurence Dunbar

Lieutenant Colonel Charity Edna Earley

Gerard “Fuzzy” Faust

The Honorable Judge Arthur O’Neil Fisher

Brother Raymond L. Fitz

Dr. August F. Foerste

Ermal C. Fraze

Gem City Chorus

Major Dominic Salvatore Gentile

Harvey Dunn Geyer

Jerry Gillotti

Lillian Gish and Dorothy Gish

William G. Goodwin

Annae Barney Gorman

Richard H. Grant, Sr.

Barrett K. Green

Anne S. Greene

Lewis B. Gunckel

Clark J. Haines

Jesse “Pop” Haines

The Honorable Congressman Tony P. Hall

Virginia Hamilton

Keith Harrison

Michael Hauer

Colonel Dean E. Hess

Clarence Charles Hobart

Dr. John Hole

Dale Huffman

Horace M. Huffman, Jr.

Dr. Lewis Albert Jackson

John L. Janning

Edward “Al” Johnson

Jacob O. Joyce

Milton Kantor

Paul Katz

Charles F. Kettering

Virginia Kettering

William P. Lear

The Honorable State Representative Lloyd E. Lewis, Jr.

Evangeline Lindsley

Neal V. Loving

Alyce Downing Lucas 

Frederic Charles MacFarlane

Herbert Woodward Martin

William Preston Mayfield

The Honorable State Representative C.J. McLin, Jr.

John A. McMahon

George Mead

Reverend Leo Meyer, S.M.

Thomas Midgley, Jr.

Daniel W. Mikesell

John E. Moore, Sr.

Arthur E. Morgan

Edwin C. Moses

Phoebe Anne Mosey

Ervin J. Nutter

Zoe Dell Nutter

The Ohio Players

James A. Parsons, Jr.

John H. Patterson

Margaret E. Peters

Mike Peters

Louis F. Polk

Dr. David H. Ponitz

Doris Ponitz

Esther Price  

Reverend Edward A. Puff

Jane Reece

The Honorable Judge Walter Herbert Rice

Frederick Rike

Miriam Rosenthal

Mac Ross

Fritz J. Russ and Dolores H. Russ

Mike Schmidt

Betty Schmoll

Major Rudolph Schroeder

Robert Keyser Schul

Josephine L. Schwarz and Hermene Schwarz

LaVerne Kenon Sci

Gerald Sharkey

Martin Sheen

John Q. Sherman and William C. Sherman

John D. Siebenthaler

Ned Sifferlen

David A. Sinclair

Frederick C. Smith

Sister Dorothy Stang

Frank Stanton

Tony Stein

Dr. Rembert E. Stokes

Frank M. Tait

Charlie Taylor

Charles A. Thomas

Louise Troy

University of Dayton Men’s Basketball Program

Dr. Hans J. P. von Ohain

Don Wayne

Calvin J. Werner

Dr. Charles H. Wesley

Jonathan Winters

Mitchell “Booty” Wood

Jean V. Woodhull

Alice Woodward

Orville Wright

Wilbur Wright

Chief Rudolph F. Wurstner

Colonel Charles Young

Eugene Edward Young, Jr.

Rosamond M. Young